top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChristina Kaough

Oh, Fluxx!

A game where the rules fluctuate with the win-d!



Hello and welcome to my blog, Oh, Fluxx!. A game where the rules fluctuate with the win-d! When I hear the term gamer, I always have a vision of guys with these LED headsets, big-screen TVs, and cool chairs sitting with their controllers, laughing and talking(talking -ish) with their friends while playing games online where they are shooting each other or shooting other people.


So, at the pivotal moment when I decided to get my master's in instructional design at Cal State University, Northridge, I was intrigued by the added value of the certificate in creating online games. Moving further into the course, I realized that gaming took a much more significant portion of what I was learning than I had anticipated. I don't consider myself an online gamer per se. Still, as I began to learn more about instructional design and the roles that games play in learning throughout corporate training and the classroom settings, I realized that I might be more of an educational gamer.


After all, who doesn't love a good board game or card game that adds value to your life?


This realization during my course of study has brought me to this blog.

My cohort was given a reading assignment about reskinning games, modifying an existing game to fit different profiles. The chapter on reskinning games is fascinating because it focuses on the game Fluxx created by Looney Labs, which is the focal point of this blog. If you haven't heard about this game, I highly suggest you look into it(roster.looneylabs.com).


Fluxx is a game with ever-changing rules and goals and has been compared to Calvin Ball.


The game's object is to match two of your Keeper cards with one Goal card while changing the rules with the New Rules and Action cards to win the game ultimately. In today's gaming community, you can get almost any game in an app on your phone, so I searched the app store for the game and found two versions, the original and a corporate version called Fluxx Client(Fluxx Client is a NO). I was happy that I chose to try the app before I purchased the physical card game. I used the app's offline play option to familiarize myself with the game.


I played against the Bot, and it was fun!


How I beat the Bot in Fluxx!


Fluxx is a game of strategy, and I found that out right away. You start simple with three cards and two rules play one card and draw one card. As the game progresses, you have the option to play your Keepers(put them on the table) so that your opponent, the Bot, can see them or keep them in your hand. Holding your Keepers in your hand is the most apparent strategy aside from knowing the rules(that are constantly fluctuating). I suggest playing the app to get a crash course on how to play the game. It also helps you get familiar with the Rule and Action cards and how they affect the game's outcome.




My next suggestion is to get skilled in using the New Rules and Action cards and when to look out for them. While both groups of cards impact your goal, specific cards affect your Keeper and Goal cards. When you look at the New Rules cards, look out for the Keeper Limits cards, there are two of them, and they limit the number of Keepers you can have in play(which is also a good argument for holding them in your hand) to 3 or 4 cards any cards over the limits must be trashed. If a Keeper is trashed, don't fret! You do have an opportunity to get it back if you get the Action Card: Let's Do That Again!


The New rules cards that affect your Goal cards are the Double Agenda and Goal Mill cards. The Double Agenda card allows you to have two goals in play simultaneously(twice the winning options). The Goal Mill card enables you to discard as many of the Goal cards you have in your hand as you would like. This card can come in handy when you have a goal that someone else can steal and win the game.


The Action cards that directly impact the Keeper cards are the Exchange Keepers, No Limits, Share the Wealth, Steal a Keeper, and Trash a Keeper. As you can see, there are a lot of actions that can impact the game. When using the Action:

  • Exchange Keeper card, you can trade any Keeper card regardless of its play status(in your hand or in play).

  • No Limits card gives all players the option to have as many Keepers as they would like in play.

  • Share the Wealth card, shuffles all Keeper cards in play, and redistributes them among the players.

  • Steal a Keeper card that is in play

  • Trash a Keeper card, pick a Keeper from any player, and trash it.

These are all opportunities to strategically position yourself to win.

My last option is one I found on the internet, and it is to extend your chain of play as long as you can. For other options and insights, check out the links below.








18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

EMPATHY, NARRATIVES AND GAMES

When watching a series or a movie, hardly ever we keep on watching if we don’t empathize with the main character. Often, we end up falling in love with the characters, rooting for their success and cr

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page